Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer


Liga 2 (English: League Two) is the second-tier of the football competition system in Indonesia, organized by PSSI. Before 2017, this competition was named the Liga Indonesia Premier Division (from 1994 to 2007, it was the top-tier division in the Indonesian football league system).

As a result of continuing conflict between PT Liga Indonesia (LI) and PT Liga Prima Indonesia Sportindo (LPIS), there were two different Liga Indonesia Premier Division being organized for 2011–12 and 2013 season, one for the Indonesia Super League and the other for Indonesian Premier League. Starting the 2014 season Premier Division is organized again by PT Liga Indonesia after the dissolution of LPIS.

Prior to the formation of Indonesia Super League in 2008, Premier Division was the Indonesian top-flight football league. Along with Indonesia Super League, Premier Division is a fully professional competition.

The 2021–22 Liga 2 was the fifth season of the Liga 2 under its current name and the 12th season under its current league structure. The following teams have changed division since the 2019 season.

To Liga 2 , Relegated from Liga 1 : Badak Lampung, Kalteng Putra, Semen Padang.

Promoted from Liga 3 : Persijap, PSKC, Tiga Naga, Persekat, Putra Sinar Giri, Hizbul Wathan (formerly Semeru)

From Liga 2, Promoted to Liga 1: Persik, Persita, Persiraja

Relegated to Liga 3: PSGC, Persibat, Bandung United, Madura, Persatu, PSMP

Semeru relocated to Sidoarjo and were renamed to Hizbul Wathan.

Babel United merged with Muba United into Muba Babel United and relocated to Musi Banyuasin.

Putra Sinar Giri relocated to Pati and were renamed to Putra Safin Group Pati (PSG Pati). However, on June 2021, the club was acquired by Atta Halilintar and renamed themselves again into AHHA PS Pati, although the name change won't come into effect until at least 2022. Martapura relocated to Tangerang and were renamed to Dewa United. Cilegon United were bought out by Raffi Ahmad and rebranded themselves into RANS Cilegon.